We are a small and growing congregation known for our friendliness and welcoming spirit.  Here is our official mission:  “Our mission as we live our historic, liberal faith, is to nurture spiritual growth, honor diversity, and offer service with love.”  We are a community of new and lasting relationships with a deep commitment to helping others.

Our congregation is a member of the Unitarian Universalist Association (UUA)Dinner2.  As a member congregation we pay dues to the UUA and in return the UUA provides us with services such as religious education curricula, worship materials and workshops in church administration.  The UUA is subdivided into districts.  Our district is the Northern New England District or NNED.

Our church is independent, self-governing, and self-financed.  Our governing body is a Board of Trustees democratically elected from among our members.  To become a member, one must affirm the Seven Principles of Unitarian Universalism, sign our historic membership book, and agree to make a yearly financial contribution.

In addition to the contributions made by the Board of Trustees, Minister, Music Director, Office Manager, and Sexton, church operations are administered by committees staffed by Dinner1church members.  These committees include the Capital Campaign Committee, Building Committee, the Membership Committee, the Worship Committee, the Religious Education Committee, the Finance Committee, and Pastoral Associates.

While committee work is a great satisfaction and is often a good deal of fun, committee work is only a part of our congregational life.  Our religious community shares a rich social life filled with potluck and circle suppers, concerts, monthly Women’s Group gatherings, Covenant Groups, our annual talent show, a Ferry Beach Retreat, informal kayaking, hiking and snowshoeing outings, and movies of every ilk.  Good conversation and real camaraderie are touchstones of our community.

We hope you will join us!

The Board of Trustees for the 2017-2018 Church Year:


  • Allen Erler, ChairGA1
  • Elise Wilson, Treasurer
  • Virginia Howe, Clerk
  • Joan Beal, Trustee
  • Mike Corrigan, Trustee
  • Ben Woodard, Trustee
  • Rev. Fayre Stephenson, ad hoc